• 1970

    • Lord Fairfax Community College (LFCC) opens its doors and classes begin with 577 students. The original College building includes classrooms, laboratories, administrative and faculty offices, a business office, the William Moore Dietel Bookstore and the Fredy and Klara Kummli Student Center.
    • William H. McCoy becomes the first president of the College.
  • 1972

    • LFCC holds its first Commencement ceremony. Ninety-two students receive degrees.
    • LFCC receives accreditation from the Southern Association of Community and Junior Colleges.
  • 1985

    • LFCC's Middletown Campus expands by building a technology center that includes a special events center, computer labs, classrooms and faculty offices.
  • 1988

    • Marilyn C. Beck becomes the second president of the College.
    • Fauquier County Executive Bob G. Sowder donates 2.5 acres of property to LFCC to establish a second campus.
  • 1993

    • The Middletown Campus technology center is dedicated and officially named the Alson H. Smith Jr. Technology Center.
  • 1994

    • Construction on the Middletown Campus Learning Resources Center is completed, providing students and community members access to thousands of books and resources.
  • 1995

  • 1996

    • The Virginia General Assembly appropriates $7.2 million to construct a 60,000-square-foot classroom and administrative building on the Fauquier Campus.
  • 1999

  • 2003

    • John J. "Ski" Sygielski becomes the third president of the College.
  • 2005

    • LFCC celebrates its 35th anniversary.


  • 2009

Last modified: 2010-11-05 11:33:13